525/600:

A Year of Trying to be a Better Mom

Day 7 (8641-10080m): Superman Sunday April 25, 2010

Filed under: colors,daddy,language development,numbers — Erin Brambilla @ 8:58 pm
Tags: , ,

Sunday has started becoming grocery shopping day for me. Mostly because Pete is home to watch the 3 munchkins and I can go by myself. I’m not opposed or incapable of bringing the 3 of them along. I once went to Target with all 3 kids and tried on a bazillion outfits in the fitting room. Yep. With 2 babies and a 2 year old with me. And nobody cried. It was almost a miracle. Perhaps if I could have  found clothes that fit it would have been an actual miracle, but that’s a story that’s neither here nor there. I digress! At any rate, I went shopping by myself which brings a welcome break for me, plus I can do things about 100 times faster, and Pete gets some bonding time with the kids.

I don’t really know what goes on during these bonding sessions. I do know that he managed to feed and diaper them all appropriately AND straighten the living room. Wow. He’s almost good enough to be me (but don’t tell HIM that). All I know is that when I came home, the 2 babies were cooing away on the playmat and Zach declared himself to be “Superman!!!” and “Daddy a cool dude!” Clearly, sometime in the 2 hours I was gone, a vocabulary lesson took place. After running over to hug me and inspect the wares of the grocery bags, Zach went back to playing the Official Superman Home Game. You know, the one where you run down the hall as fast as you can, into your Daddy’s waiting arms, and he lifts you skyward as you sing-shout, “Superman!!!” It’s just as funny as it is cute!

Running down the hall

SUPERMAN!

Aside from a new game, today’s learning experience is another ingenious, super easy to do activity. Have you ever seen something and thought, “That is SO stinkin’ brilliant, why didn’t *I* think of that???” This is one of those situations. I found it HERE. If you haven’t been to the “No Time For Flashcards” site, go there. Now. The author is probably going to be getting a lot of pingbacks/linkbacks from me because it is FULL of good ideas! Anyhow, for this activity (or as I like to call it, a Cooking Dinner Distraction) all I did was take the magnetic numbers collection I had hidden away and a cookie sheet, put them together and voila! Number learning fun. I nearly threw these numbers out months ago because they don’t stick to our fridge so well, they just kept sliding down to the floor. But, for some reason, I saved them and I’m glad I did. Zach had oodles of fun counting the numbers, grouping the numbers and…well…flinging a few across the kitchen floor!

Magnets grouped by color

I’ll have to find a set of letters to go with the numbers for additional learning opportunities. Oh, and do you think my child has learned the ins and outs of mommy blogging already? As he was working he looked up at me and said, “Camera, mommy?” I think I’m creating a monster!

What did Zach learn? A few new phrases and words. Number recognition. A color lesson. And that Daddy is one “cool dude”. “Awesome!”

What did Mommy learn? Well, that Daddy is actually pretty cool and can handle himself very well with 3 kids. This, of course, I already knew, but a reminder is always refreshing. I also learned that my kid is a total ham and I love it!

 

2 Responses to “Day 7 (8641-10080m): Superman Sunday”

  1. Alissa Says:

    I am so impressed! You have now made it through a week of wonderful activities. Keep up the good work. I am loving reading about your adventures. The cookie sheet with magnetic letters thing is something I used in my classroom for a literacy station, and it does work very well. Thanks for sharing the “No Time for Flashcards” site! I had never heard of it and took a quick look tonight and was very impressed by what they have on there. I will definitely use some of their acitivities (and probably yours too) when Ethan is old enough.

    An activity idea (maybe you’ve already thought of this one): When we were little, my mom used to give us buckets of water and those foam paintbrushes and we would “paint” the house, deck, etc. We loved doing this, and it was a great thing on a warm day. I bet Zach would love to paint everything too, and I’m sure there are some lessons you could incorporate (painting letters, how the sun evaporates/dries the water, size of different brushes, etc.). It would be a pretty inexpensive activity, since those foam brushes are so cheap. Just a thought.

    • erincb Says:

      GREAT idea! Zach would love that. It would be a great one just to do on our deck. Or down on the sidewalk. I bet I have some brushes already in the arts and crafts bin too.


Leave a Reply

