525/600:

A Year of Trying to be a Better Mom

Day 21: Mother’s Day May 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Erin Brambilla @ 8:34 pm

Today was Mother’s Day, which means I got to take the day “off”. Or, at least I changed a few less diapers, didn’t cook any meals, got to drink mimosas (because Mother’s Day is a day fancy enough for mimosas) and someone else worked with Zach on crafts! Just to prove how relaxed and lazy I was, I think I stayed in my PJs until 3ish. I really wonder why I bothered to change at all!

I think my very favorite part of the day was immediately upon waking up, I walked out of the bedroom door to be greeted by Zach. He was obviously watching for my arrival into the living room and as soon as he saw me walk out, he jumped up as fast as he could and said, “Happy Mother’s Day Mommy!!” He was SO excited to say it. And I was SO excited to hear it. This was my 3rd Mother’s Day, but the first time Zach has been able to say the words.

My second favorite part of the day was in the afternoon when he walked up to me and said, “Best Mommy Ever!” Daddy was obviously teaching him how to sweet talk me. It works!

Pete and Zach cooked me brunch (and I had those yummy mimosas) and we all just relaxed the whole day.

At church, the lovely ladies who run the nursery had the kids make Mother’s Day cards for their crafts. Thanks to Rebeca and Nicole for doing that. I love my little scribbles!

Front of the card (he obviously had a little bit of help)

Inside of the card.

And that’s all I’m going to say about a day all about me!

What did Zach learn today? Some new phrases. How to butter up mommy. And that some days are special.

What did Mommy learn? Nothing. I already knew I had the best family ever.

 

Leave a Reply

