525/600:

A Year of Trying to be a Better Mom

Day 25: The Little Green Frog Song May 13, 2010

Filed under: music,songs — Erin Brambilla @ 11:40 pm
Tags: , , ,

Today’s activity takes me back to my high school years, specifically to times spent with my church youth group. One of my fellow youth group members taught us this song. I can’t recall if we were doing some sort of manual labor at the time, or if we were just hanging out wherever the girls were all sleeping that week. Either way, this little kids song caught on. My best friend, Jill, and I made it our official theme song. Looking back, I’m sure we annoyed the snot out of everyone else, but WE had fun. And that’s what matters.

So, much more age appropriately today, I decided to teach Zach this song. We were out running errands today and found ourselves stuck in the car for a while waiting on something. Boredom started to strike, so I looked into my song arsenal and pulled out the BIG one. The Little Green Frog Song.

I’m going to teach it to you all to. Because it’s fun and easy to sing. But I must tell you. The facial expressions are a CRUCIAL part of singing this song. Without them, it’s just a song. With them, its pure genius. I also must warn you that I am about to post some VERY unflattering pictures of myself here. Like, I can’t believe I’m about to post them in this most public of forums, they are THAT bad. But, in the name of music here goes.

The Little Green Frog Song

Oom Ah! Went the little green frog one day.
Oom Ah! Went the little green frog.
Oom Ah! Went the little green frog one day.
And his eyes went Oom Ah! Oom Ah Ah!

Those are the lyrics and the facial expressions go like this:

First, you scrunch your whole face up to say “Oom”

Oom!

Then you open your eyes and mouth really wide and stick out your tongue as you say, “Ah!”

"Ah!"

Yes, you WILL look as ridiculous as me doing this. But like I said. It’s CRITICAL to the success of the song. You will sing it, and do the facial expressions at the appropriate times (doubling up for the “Ah! Ah!” on the last line) and your 2-year-old will giggle and laugh and make you sing it over and over and over again. And he will learn this song faster than ANY song you have ever taught him before.

Later on that night, when Daddy came home, we did a special performance just for him. Zach decided a piano accompaniment was needed. I do think it makes a nice addition. Though our neighbors might not.

"Oom!"

"Ah!"

Zach is much cuter singing this song than me, obviously. But he’s 2. That means he’s cuter than me doing pretty much anything.

What did Zach learn today? Well, a new song, obviously. But learning and singing songs helps him with a lot of things: memory, rhythm, tone (well, maybe not if Mommy is the one signing to him), how to carry a melody, even pattern. it also instills confidence in himself as we clap and cheer him on.

What did Mommy learn today? I knew that Zach responds to music very well. I just had no idea how much fun he’d have with this one today. I’m going to have to find others like it.

 

One Response to “Day 25: The Little Green Frog Song”

  1. noelle Says:

    so cute! Aidan LOVES loves loves to sing songs with any sort of motion… he picks up the words to songs so well these days and it is so fun to hear him sing 🙂


Leave a Reply

