525/600:

A Year of Trying to be a Better Mom

Day 29: Feet Painting May 18, 2010

Filed under: colors,Craft,paint,recycle/upcycle,sensory — Erin Brambilla @ 4:11 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Feet painting. It’s like finger painting, but with your feet. And it’s ooey-goowey, slimy, squishy, slippery fun. And it’s messy. And it’s sensory. And it teaches colors. And spurs creativity. And gives Daddy a heart attack over the hardwood floors (but don’t worry Daddy, it’s washable paint).

I’ve had this cardboard box sitting around the house for about a week now. A bridesmaid dress was shipped in it. It was long and flat. Zach has been playing with it, but honestly, I was to the point that I just couldn’t stand looking at it one more time on the living room floor. I saw a commercial, for who knows what, that showed a little girl running across a long white thing (maybe it was paper, maybe it was carpet…I was only half paying attention), she had bright pink paint on her feet. I thought, “THAT looks like fun, let’s try it.” So we did.

Supplies:

Paper plates, 1 for each color; finger paints; trash bags or other drop cloth; and your painting surface.

I squirted a glob of paint onto each plate. I had forgotten how thick finger paint is, so I added a tiny bit of water and mixed w/ the back of a spoon on each one so it would spread on the plate a bit, kind of like pizza sauce.

Paint on plates

Then I broke down the box and was delighted to see it looks like one long runway. I set it on the plastic trash bags on my kitchen floor. I set down the four paint-filled paper plates at the end.

Looks like fun, huh?

Then I called Zach over (actually I had been holding him back and was now ready to let loose). I helped him dip his feet into a color each. I told him which color we were using as we went. Then I set him on the box and told him to run around. The paint makes things a bit slippery, as you can imagine, so he was kind of leery. He felt better when I agreed to hold his hand so he could walk up and down the cardboard. He got excited when I told him it was OK to jump.

Walking down the cardboard with paint on his feet

Once the paint had come mostly off his feet, I switched the colors up. And just repeated the process until he was sick of it and telling me, “Want take shower Mommy.” Along the way we talked about how it felt–wet and slimy, gooey and sticky. I made sure he saw the effect his actions had on the cardboard, showing all those colors. It was fun!

This stinker never smiles for the camera. He had fun, LOL!

Toe prints

Surprisingly, he didn’t try to bee-line for the living room with paint on his feet, I was prepared for that! I think once he felt how slippery it was, he became cautious, so my vigilance was unnecessary. After we were done, I put him straight to the bathtub to clean up.

What did Zach learn today? More sensory learning. Along with more color lessons. He also had a chance to just be creative. Craft time doesn’t have to be about crayons and paper. And we don’t have to only use our hands to make art.

What did Mommy learn today? The finger paint really is quite slippery, so be careful. And Zach may have had just as much fun running across the cardboard, sans paint. But this was cool too!

 

One Response to “Day 29: Feet Painting”

  1. […] piece of thin cardboard I had lying around. It came in the box a bridesmaid dress was shipped in (that I also recycled for a project!). It’s about the thickness of regular poster board. So, you know, if you don’t have a […]


Leave a Reply

